Laughter May Not Cure-all

But it can help you feel better

Julie Kenny
5 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

Yesterday was a terrible, no good, awful day. It seriously sucked, and I spent the afternoon crying in bed, drinking beer and watching Bridgerton. I was miserable, angry and devastated.

I allowed myself to wallow in my misery. I saw my neighbour as I walked to 7–11 to buy beer. She understood the situation as I’d discussed it with her the night before. She hugged me and reminded me she was next door if I needed anything.

How I shifted from crying to laughing.

My new Saturday morning routine is to watch Taskmaster on YouTube. I watch the UK, Australian, New Zealand, and Danish versions. I love them and find them funny.

What makes us laugh is different for everyone. I find this show hilarious, and I enjoy the silliness of it. I started watching it during Covid, and now it’s my Saturday morning habit.

I watched it this morning. My son and husband joined me in bed to watch with me. We laughed and joked, and we all felt better for having done so.

Did laughing make my problems go away?

No, but the laughter improved my mindset. Regarding outcomes, our attitude has a significant impact on our success. I like the event + response

--

--