The Best Time Management Systems Are

The ones that work for you.

Julie Kenny
6 min readApr 23, 2024

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

We are all different, and when it comes to finding the systems that work for us, it’s often trial and error to find the best ones. Time management is no different.

I often see time management as the miracle cure for a busy life. I attempt to fit an increasingly greater amount of activity into the same or less amount of time. It doesn’t work because I can’t just do more in less time, no matter how hard I try.

Below is the time management system I have set up to fit my work style.

Journalling

I choose to spend time every morning journalling. I wrap up my session by writing out a list of things I need to do. Regularly capturing tasks helps keep me from worrying I’ll forget something important.

I check this list on a regular basis during the day. This is so I can put a line through the tasks I complete and ensure I’m doing the higher-priority ones and not just the ones I’d prefer to do.

Brainstorm and capture all tasks.

But sometimes I need a little bit more or to restart the system. I came home from the holidays and had a busy week ahead with many leftover tasks. Thinking about everything whirling around my brain, it was easy to feel…

--

--